Recovery Nation

Personal Development Forum
It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 3:06 am

All times are UTC - 5 hours

Post subject: Lisaup's Healing Thread
PostPosted: Tue Apr 25, 2017 4:08 pm 

Lesson One-My Story

I discovered ongoing first affair 9 years into my marriage in 1997 quit by accident. My husband is a doctor and I was a nurse, but a stay at home mom at that time. It lasted a year or more, and I was clueless. I thought when someone you loved looked you in the eye and said there was nothing going on, there wasn't. I had 3 young children and was 5 months pregnant with our fourth daughter when I finally had enough of the evidence and the stalling and kicked him out. He was gone 3 days and he figured out it was us or her. So he came back and we got some unhelpful counseling that didn’t last very long. Back in 1998, there wasn't the plethora of self-help books like there is today, and the internet was still in its infancy. I don’t remember having any resources. I was too humiliated and confused to tell anyone, so I suffered in silence. He continued to deny that they slept together and even got the OW to lie for him. He even swore on his dear father’s grave. I knew otherwise, but he wouldn't admit it. I didn’t even know about gaslighting back then.